Sunrisers Hyderabad defeat 4-time IPL winner CSK


Sunrisers Hyderabad have won their first IPL match this season by defeating four-time winner Chennai Super Kings who have faced fourth successive defeat. Young Abhishek Sharma’s 50-ball-75 guided Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden eight-wicket win.

The 21-year-old Sharma took the attack to the opposition with a blistering first IPL half-century which was studded with five fours and three sixes, to help Sunrisers easily chase down the target of 155 with 14 balls to spare.

CSK now have to win at least eight out of their remaining 10 games in order to reach the magic figure of 16 points, which during the past few years is the cut-off for play-off qualifications.

MUST READ  Australia defeats India by 4 wkts in Mohali T20I Match

The left-hander from Punjab, who was bought for Rs 6.5 crore by the Sunrisers in the auction, led India to victory in the U-19 Asia Cup in 2016, before being replaced as captain by Prithvi Shaw months before the 2018 U-19 World Cup.