RR defeats MI by 23 runs riding on Butler’s century


Jos Buttler smashed the first century of IPL 2022 to power Rajasthan Royals to 23-run win over five-time champions Mumbai Indians, who slumped to their second consecutive defeat on Saturday. Jos Buttler brought his A-game to the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy hit 11 fours and 5 sixes and he aided Rajasthan Royals to post 193/8 in 20 overs.

Opening the innings after being sent into bat, Buttler hit a whirlwind 100 off 68 balls, only his second ton in the history of the IPL. He struck 11 boundaries and five sixes during his knock. Besides Buttler, Shimron Hetmyer (35 off 14) looked in destructive form while skipper Sanju Samson (30 off 21) too got a start.

MUST READ  Debutant Gujarat Titans reach finals after defeating RR by 7 wkts

Jasprit Bumrah (3/17) was the pick of the bowlers for MI. Chasing the total, Tilak Verma smashed 61 off 33 balls, while opener Ishan Kishan made 54 off 43 balls but it was not enough to guide MI home as they finished at 170 for eight. Yuzvendra Chahal once again shone bright with the ball picking up two wickets for 26 runs from his four overs.

Rajasthan Royals took four wickets in quick succession. Ishan Kishan and Tilak Varma were running away with the game for Mumbai Indians as they struck half-centuries, but owing to a fantastic catch by Navdeep Saini in the deep, Kishan was sent back to the hut, and the floodgates opened up.

MUST READ  MI loses 6th IPL match, haven't won single match this season

Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal then dismissed Tilak Varma, Tim David and Daniel Sams in quick succession. Kieron Pollard was not able to take Mumbai Indians over the line and in the end, they stumbled to a 23-run loss.

Earlier, Tilak Varma and Ishan Kishan had steadied the ship for Mumbai Indians as they put on 81 runs for the third wicket. Mumbai Indians had lost the wicket of Rohit Sharma in the second over of the innings as the right-handed batter was sent back to the pavilion by Prasidh Krishna. Rohit managed to score just 10.