RCB push down CSK, win by 13 runs


Pushing CSK  to the brink of elimination, RCB defeated them by 13 runs at the MCA Stadium in Pune and moved to fourth position on the points table.

CSK had made a strong start in the Powerplay, scoring 51/0 in six overs but Shahbaz Ahmed provided the RCB with the big breakthrough, dismissing Ruturaj Gaikwad on 28. The quartet of Mahipal Lomror, who smashed a 27-ball 42; skipper Faf du Plessis (38 off 22); Virat Kohli (30 off 33) and Dinesh Karthik (27 not out off 17) did well to lift RCB to 173 for 8.

RCB bowlers then restricted the defending champions to 160 for 8. Harshal Patel took three wickets giving away just 35 runs and Glen Maxwell showed up with 2 for 22 off his four overs. Shabaz Ahmed (1/27), Wanindu Hasaranga (1/31) and Josh Hazlewood (1/19) also picked a wicket each.

MUST READ  Australia defeats India by 4 wkts in Mohali T20I Match

Devon Conway (56) slammed yet another half-century but the regular wickets at the other end continued to hurt CSK, before Conway was caught by Virat Kohli at deep square leg himself.

With 56 needed off the last five overs, Ravindra Jadeja tried to up the ante but the all-rounder, who has struggled with form all season, hit a slow delivery by Patel over cover straight to Kohli’s hands.

RCB’s death over specialist then struck again, this time getting rid off the dangerous Ali, who was slowing finding his groove.

MUST READ  CSK unfollow Ravindra Jadeja on Insta, rumours of split rife

When Dhoni walked in CSK needed 52 off 24 balls which soon became 39 from the last two overs. The talismanic leader, however, couldn’t get his side over the line.

Earlier, the CSK spinners made full use of Dhoni’s decision to bowl first as a fit-again Moen Ali (2/28) and Maheesh Theekshana (3/27) shared five wickets.

Ali rattled the RCB top-order, getting rid of the opening pair of Kohli and du Plessis, while Theekshana snapped three wickets in the penultimate over. Dwaine Pretorius (1/42) was the other wicket taker for CSK.