NZ beat India by 8 wickets to win inaugural WTC title


New Zealand captain Kane Williamson led from the front, scoring a half-century to help his side defeat India in the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC) Final, at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton on Wednesday.

Having been set a target of 139 runs, New Zealand reached 140 for two in 45.5 overs, winning by eight wickets. Williamson slammed an unbeaten knock of 52 runs off 89 balls, consisting of eight fours. Meanwhile, Ross Taylor hit the match-winning boundary for the victors, also scoring 47 off 100 balls.

MUST READ  ICC Women's WC: India back in the game after defeating Bangladesh by 110 runs

Meanwhile, Ravichandran Ashwin took two wickets for India, dismissing openers Tom Latham and Devon Conway. Earlier, India were bowled out for 170 runs in 73 overs, setting a 139-run target. Rishabh Pant top-scored for Virat Kohli’s outfit with 41 runs.

Other than Pant, nobody from the Indian batting order could cross the 20-run mark in their second innings, courtesy of some good bowling by New Zealand. New Zealand bowlers began Day 6 on a strong note, with Kyle Jamieson taking the wickets of Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli. Trent Boult also took three wickets, with Tim Southee registered two dismissals. Meanwhile, Neil Wagner also took a wicket.