NSW residents vote in four by-elections today, litmus test for Perrottet

After only a few months in the top job, Dominic Perrottet’s premiership is being put to the test with four by-elections held in a day.
Thousands of New South Wales residents head to the polls to cast their votes in four by-elections.
Four seats are up for grabs in Strathfield, Monaro, Bega and Willoughby.
The state government is at risk of being plunged further into a parliamentary minority, with three of the four seats being government-held.
If the government loses any of those seats, it means they will face a parliamentary minority.
Meanwhile, the deadline for postal votes has been extended to February 25 which means results could take longer than usual.
Opposition Leader Chris Minns has made an appearance at Moruya Public School with local Labor candidate Dr Michael Holland in the Bega by-election.
He said the by-elections give residents the opportunity to send a message to the government.
“I do think it is a chance for voters to send a message to the NSW premier that they want to see him do a better job,” Minns said.
“Voters recognise you can’t change the government in a by-election but you can send a message to the NSW premier and change the direction of the government.”
Liberal candidate for Strathfield Bridget Sakr has arrived at Chalmers Road School to rally voters in their decision-making.
Former deputy premier John Bariliaro will be popping up at Jerrabomberra Public School to show his support for the Nationals candidate Nicholle Overall for the Monaro by-election.
Premier Dominic Perrottet will be showing his support for the Liberal candidate Tim James at Cammeray Public School for the Willoughby by-election.
He will also be campaigning at Homebush Public school to show his support for Ms Sakr in the Strathfield by-election.
The by-elections were caused by the resignations of Premier Gladys Berejiklian, Opposition Leader Jodi McKay, Deputy Premier John Barilaro and Transport Minister Andrew Constance.