Many AAP leaders in Himachal join BJP


Ahead of impending state Assembly polls in Himachal, state Mahila Morcha chief of Aam Admi Party alongwith other office-bearers joined the BJP in Delhi on Monday.

Also, Delhi Health Minister Satyender Jain said Himachal Pradesh’s AAP state working committee had been dissolved and the new body would be reorganised soon.

Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Anurag Thakur was instrumental in making Mamta Thakur, state president of the Mahila wing of the AAP, join the saffron party. Union Minister Meenakshi Lekhi was also present on the occasion.

MUST READ  Delhi's Rajpath to be renamed as 'Kartavya Path'

“It has become difficult for the AAP to virtually save its party in Himachal,” said Anurag Thakur.

Others who joined the BJP along with her include state Mahila Morcha vice-president Sangeeta, vice-president of the social media wing Ashish Kumar and state president of the industry wing DK Tyagi. Thakur said the AAP leadership had levelled allegations against its own party workers who had worked for the party relentlessly in the past.

It is pertinent to mention that on April 8, the state president of the AAP Anup Kesari, state organisational secretary Satish Thakur and district AAP president of Una Iqbal Singh had joined the BJP in the presence of BJP national chief JP Nadda.

MUST READ  No lapse of fund should occur, slow pace of development to be viewed seriously: Minister Cheema

Thakur added that leaders were deserting AAP in protest against the anti-Himachal style of functioning of AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal.