India win T20I Series Against S Africa; Shikhar Dhawan to lead ODI Squad


India defeated South Africa by 16 runs in the second T20I at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati leading the three-match series 2-0 on Sunday. Proteas skipper Temba Bavuma won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul were in fine form as the duo put on 57 runs inside six overs for the hosts in the second T20I. Rohit was finally dismissed by Keshav Maharaj, but it was not before the Indian skipper had scored 43.

KL Rahul and Surya Kumar then hit fifties to take Team India over the line. Virat Kohli scored 49 not out off 28 balls.

Chasing 238-run target, South Africa were stopped at 221 for 3 in 20 overs despite David Miller’s unbeaten 106 off 47 balls. Meanwhile, Quinton de Kock scored 69 not out off 48. Earlier, Suryakumar Yadav scored 61 off 22 balls, while KL Rahul hit a 28-ball 57 as India posted a big total of 237/3 in 20 overs.

Shikhar Dhawan To Lead ODI squad , Shreyas Iyer Named Vice-Captain

MUST READ  Sri Lanka beat India by 6 wkts in Asia Cup match

The All-India Senior-Selection Committee on Sunday named the ODI squad for the upcoming three-match series against South Africa. Shikhar Dhawan will be leading the side while Shreyas Iyer will act as his vice-captain. The likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi and Ishan Kishan have also been named in the squad.

Mukesh Kumar and Rajat Patidar have also earned their maiden call-up into the Indian side while the likes of Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj and Deepak Chahar have also been named in the squad.

MUST READ  Cricketer Arshdeep Singh gets massive support after getting trolled for dropped catch in Ind-Pak match

Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav and Shardul Thakur are also a part of the squad.

The first ODI will be played on October 6 and the remaining two ODIs will be played on October 9 and 11.

India’s ODI squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar