England wins 3rd ODI; Suryakumar Yadav’s 117 goes in vain


Suryakumar Yadav knock of 117 went in vain as England defeated India by 17 runs in the third and final T20I at Trent Bridge in Nottingham.

Chasing a total of 216, India were reeling at 31 for three before Yadav and Shreyas Iyer stitched 119 runs for the fourth wicket to keep the team afloat in the chase. Iyer and Dinesh Karthik were dismissed in quick succession but Yadav continued his onslaught to take India closer to the target.

MUST READ  Australian cricket legend Rod Marsh dies at 74 of heart attack

However, his dismissal in the penultimate over put the game back in England’s favour. Chris Jordan then took two wickets in the final over as England held on for a consolatory win. Earlier, Dawid Malan hit a brilliant 77, before Liam Livingstone unbeaten knock of 42 powered England to a total of 215 for seven against India.

Despite losing wickets at regular intervals, England managed to find boundaries at regular intervals, especially with the short boundaries at the venue. Malan and Livingstone stitched an important partnership of 84 runs as England managed to cross the 200-run mark. For India, Ravi Bishnoi and Harshal Patel took two wickets each. Earlier, England had won the toss and elected to bat.

MUST READ  IPL 2020 |Mumbai Indians beat RCB by 5 wkts

India XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan