Bhagwant Mann’s first cabinet meeting, first decision: 25,000 govt jobs


The Punjab Cabinet in a major decision on its first day of work and first meeting, announced 25,000 jobs against vacant posts in various departments, boards and corporations, including 10,0000 in Punjab Police. The meeting lasted for 30 minutes.

Disclosing this here today a spokesperson of the Chief Minister’s Office said that it would provide jobs in government sector through a transparent and merit-based mechanism.

Out of the total 25,000 government jobs, 10,000 would be offered for various posts in Punjab Police whereas the remaining 15,000 jobs would be given in other departments. The process of advertisement and notification of these jobs would be initiated within a month, added the spokesperson.

MUST READ  15 NRI police stations to get facelift in Punjab; Rs. 30 lakh to be earmarked for this purpose

Likewise, the Punjab Cabinet also cleared the presentation of Supplementary Demands for Grants for the year 2021-22 to be presented in the ensuing Vidhan Sabha Session. This decision would provide budget for additional or excess expenditure incurred by various departments during the financial year 2021-22 to liquidate the pending liabilities.

Similarly, the Cabinet also gave approval for presentation of the Statement of Estimated Expenditure (Vote on Account) from April 1, 2022 to June 30, 2022 of the State of Punjab for the year 2022-23 mandated to be presented in the State Assembly in the ensuing Punjab Vidhan Sabha as per the provisions under Rule 164 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Punjab Legislative Assembly.

MUST READ  Punjab govt to give top priority to impart quality healthcare services to people: CM Mann

Meanwhile, ten AAP MLAs were sworn in as Punjab ministers here on Saturday.

They are Harpal Singh Cheema, Harbhajan Singh, Dr Vijay Singla, Lal Chand, Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer, Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal, Laljit Singh Bhullar, Bram Shanker Jimpa, Harjot Singh Bains and Dr Baljit Kaur.

Of these, eight are first-time MLAs. They took the oath in Punjabi.